Skip to Content

Hyatt Place San Diego Vista Carlsbad Review

Last November I needed 2 more hotel night stays to earn 5,000 points in Hyatt’s Discover New Possibilities promotion. But I only had two weeks and the price had to be right. The Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad was priced right and a short drive.
I also stayed there in January and February 2013 to pick up a few nights to requalify for Hyatt Diamond status.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

gallery

 

This review will be based on my stays at the Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad in November 2012, January 2013, and February 2013. The only differences in the stays were the rooms and views.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad

I chose the Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad because:

  • The hotel is a Hyatt property and I would get a stay credit
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Driving distance from home

Location:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista:Carlsbad Review 1

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad lobby

 

The Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad is in a residential area of North San Diego County.

It’s a short 8-mile drive to the beach, 6 miles to Legoland, the Carlsbad Premium Outlet Mall, and Flower Fields.

You can fly into Carlsbad (McClellan-Palomar) airport on United Airlines and rent a car from Hertz or Avis and be at the hotel in 5 minutes (depending on traffic).

Several craft breweries are nearby so the hotel is the perfect base for beer hopping.

Airport Shuttle:

The Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad does not offer an airport shuttle.

The Carlsbad airport is 2 1/2 miles away.  And the San Diego airport is 37 miles.

Accommodations:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista:Carlsbad Review

Living room with sofa sleeper (sofa sleeper included in all rooms)

 

Check-in:

The hotel has a firm 3 p.m. check-in unless you’re a Hyatt Diamond member. As a Diamond guest, you can check in as early as noon, if there’s a room available.

The majority of guests at the Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad are business travelers (Calloway Golf, Taylormade, DJO, and ViaSat are a few miles away)except during the holidays when families stay here because it’s near Legoland and a convenient drive to Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, and the San Diego Safari Park.

I booked a Standard King room for each stay, but a couple times I was given a Studio King room instead.

Check-in is quick and easy.

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. You are greeted with a smile. And everyone is happy. Which says a lot because it means they like their jobs and are treated well.

I think it stems from having a great boss. Wes Lavender, General Manager, is friendly and engaging as well.

Hyatt Diamonds are acknowledged and recognized. Since it’s a Hyatt Place, Diamonds have a choice of 500 points or a welcome drink from the bar.

I always choose the points, but I know some Diamonds go for the drink. Since there are 10 craft breweries within 4 miles from the hotel, if you’re a Diamond, you might want to skip the drink.

The desk clerks offer to show you around the hotel, not that you’ll get lost, but it’s part of the great customer service at the Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad.

November 2012 Stay #1, January 2013 Stay # 5 and February 2103 Stay # 6:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

View from the 4th floor during the day – looking South

 

This is the view from the bedroom window for rooms on the south side of the hotel.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista Carlsbad Review

Refrigerator, coffee maker, and work desk

 

Each room has a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and work desk.  I love how the desk, while not very deep, is long enough to work on a laptop and spread out papers.  Or eat a meal while working.

There’s a great New York style pizza place, Flippin’ Pizza, down the street, about a 1-minute drive or 5 to 10-minute walk.  You can get 2 slices and a drink for $6.  They even serve beer.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

TV

 

Every room has a 42-inch flat screen TV.  The stand swivels so you can watch from the couch or bed.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

Comfortable King bed

 

The beds are extremely comfortable.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

clean, compact bathroom

 

Having the sink and counter outside the bathroom keeps your mirror from fogging up post-shower.

Kenet MD branded toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion) along with Aquafresh toothpaste are provided.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

shower only, no bathtub

 

If I remember correctly, none of the rooms have a tub.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

closet

 

The closet in the Standard King room is very small.  The door is only about 2 feet wide but the closet extends past the opening.

November 2012 Stay # 2:

I was given a Studio King room.

The differences between a Standard King and a Studio King:

  • Smaller work desk
  • Open floor plan
  • Larger closet
Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

work desk in Studio King room

 

If you need a large workspace, be sure to get a Standard King vs a Studio King.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

Studio King rooms have larger closets

 

You have more closet space in a Studio King room.

January 2013 Stay #3:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

west facing view, overlooking the pool

 

 

The only difference between this room and the other two rooms I previously stayed in was the view.

January 2013 Stay # 4:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

view from a north room, overlooking pool

 

Another Standard King room but on the north side of the building.

Amenities:

Business Center:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

workstations in business center

 

The Hyatt Place San Dieg0-Vista/Carlsbad has 3 computers and a shared printer for guest use.  There’s free wifi throughout the hotel so you can use your wifi enabled laptop.

Pool:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

pool and jacuzzi

 

There’s a decent sized pool and jacuzzi.

Fitness Center:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

equipment in fitness center

 

The fitness center has two treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a bike.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

free weights

 

There’s also free weights and a bench.  The fitness center is open 24 hours.

Valet:

There is no valet parking at the Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad.

There is complimentary self-parking.

Food:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

kitchen where complimentary Kitchen Skillet served

 

The Kitchen Skillet breakfast buffet is included in your room rate.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

oatmeal and cereal

 

You can choose from a selection of dry cereal and oatmeal.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

breakfast sandwiches and waffles

 

The hotel offers two types of breakfast sandwiches and waffles.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

yogurt and powdered donuts

 

A little healthy option and a little sinful option.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

canned fruit, cottage cheese, grapefruit slices, and yogurt

 

A cold plate keeps the fruit, cottage cheese, and yogurt chilled.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

fresh fruit

 

More breakfast options.

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

milk and juices

 

There’s a self-serve beverage section.

Bar:

Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad Review

bar

 

The hotel has a small bar.  I didn’t order anything since I only live a few miles away, I could bring my own alcohol.

Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
2645 S Melrose Drive
Vista, CA 92081
760-814-8879

Check rates & reviews: Expedia | TripAdvisor
 

Summary:

I enjoyed my stays at the Hyatt Place San Diego-Vista/Carlsbad.

The rooms are clean and comfortable.  And the staff is helpful and friendly.

It’s close to the beach and attractions and is a great base for visiting all the craft breweries in the area.

Comment, tweet, or share this post.

Get the best credit card signup bonuses.

Follow us on Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram | YouTube

Got a question? Or want help, suggestions, travel tips, learn how to travel for free, find out about travel deals, and maximize your miles and points? Use the subscription box below to sign-up and get post updates by email.

Traveling Well For Less has partnered with CardRatings for our coverage of credit card products. Traveling Well For Less and CardRatings may receive a commission from card issuers.



Chase Sapphire Preferred

The Chase Sapphire Preferred is the best card for beginning travel hackers. It is the first card you should get to start traveling for free because the welcome offer is 80,000 points after spending $4,000 in the first three months.
 
My favorite perks about this card are earning 5X points on travel when booked through the Chase portal (2X if direct purchase), 3X points on dining , $50 yearly credit on hotels booked through the Chase portal, no foreign transaction fees, and transferring points to 13 airline and hotel partners like Hyatt, United, and Southwest.
 


Chase Freedom Unlimited

The Chase Freedom Unlimited is one of my favorite cards for earning cash back card and travel rewards. It offers a welcome offer of 3% cash back = an extra 1.5% cash back on up to $20,000 in purchases your first year.
 
My favorite perks about this card are earning 6.5% cash back on travel booked through the Chase Travel Portal , 4.5% cash back at drugstores and restaurants, unlimited 1.5% cash back on all purchases and no annual fee. When paired with cards like the Chase Sapphire Reserve, you can use your points to travel for free.
 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Money Saving

Wednesday 27th of November 2013

Seems really nice to me. I'd definitely give it a go the next time we're in the San Diego area :-)

Traveling Well For Less

Wednesday 27th of November 2013

Hi Money Saving,

Definitely do - the staff is wonderful. It's not fancy but a great value. Plus it's a Hyatt. :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.